ARC Book Review : The Midnight Man By Caroline Mitchell

A horrible crime creates a kind of urban myth legend (think Candyman) decades later, only not everyone who plays the game will survive!

Sometimes you read a book and several pages in you think, “Nope. Not for me.” That’s how I felt when I started this one. I wasn’t connecting with the writing or the characters. I read a little further, but still wasn’t feeling it. But I rarely ever DNR a book, so I took a look at the reviews, and they were good, so I plugged on a little further, and suddenly all the little things that were bothering me fell away and I found myself caught up in a book with a compelling plot that kept me guessing. I’m glad I kept reading! I ended up enjoying this one much more than I anticipated. Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

From Goodreads: From number one bestselling author Caroline Mitchell, comes the first chilling Slayton thriller for fans of C. J. Tudor and Stephen King.

If you open your door to the Midnight Man, hide with a candle wherever you can. Try not to scream as he draws near, because one of you won’t be leaving here…

On Halloween night in Slayton, five girls go to Blackhall Manor to play the Midnight Game. They write their names on a piece of paper and prick their fingers to soak it in blood. At exactly midnight they knock on the door twenty-two times – they have invited the Midnight Man in.

It was supposed to be a game, but only four girls come home.

Detective Sarah Noble has just returned to the force, and no one knows more about Blackhall Manor than her. It’s a case that will take Sarah back to everything she’s been running from, and shake her to the core.

Will she be ready to meet the Midnight Man? 

Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell ~ #Mystery #BookReview

35389818I picked this up because the premise of the book sounded interesting. Happily, I wasn’t disappointed – I couldn’t put it down. The author wrote it in a way that allowed the reader endless theories, and I had to find out which suppositions I had were right, and which were wrong. Happily, (again), I couldn’t be certain until the end.

This is huge for me as both a reader and a writer – if I’m certain I know how the book is going to end (and let’s face it, there are a LOT of books that are a bit too obvious out there) – what’s to keep me (or a future reader of mine) reading?

I love being kept off guard and being blindsided (when reading). I absolutely ADORE when an author sneaks in something I hadn’t even considered, but, as long as I can’t predict everything that happens from page 1 to The End, I’ll generally keep reading. (I almost never put a book down unfinished, and when I do, it haunts me until I pick it back up, because who knows – maybe there’s a good surprise in there somewhere.)

Good character development, a nice, fluid writing style, and plenty of mystery and suspense – my kind of book! I wouldn’t hesitate to read this author again. 5 stars!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: